A little help from my friends

Like I said in the last post, infertility can be a lonely place. Sure, it is something you go through as a couple but I think the sense of loss is greater for the woman. She is the one who may never know what it’s like to carry a child, to give birth, all things that her body has been preparing to do since puberty. And in our case, I just tend to worry more. He doesn’t get worked up about things that are beyond our control. He is a much more calm and accepting person, which is a blessing through all this. Only one of us needs to be crazy.

But there is something to be said for sharing this experience with a group of women who understands the emotional turmoil that this all brings. It’s hard though, because infertility is not something people talk about. It’s not something people are open about, not something you talk about over coffee. However, it turns out there is an amazing network of women on the internet. I joined a chat group, and have become quite close to a number of the women on there. We all know each other’s stories, we share our ups and downs, and are each other’s biggest cheerleaders.

Knowing these women, even just “virtually”, has been a godsend through all this. I love reading their blogs, getting to know them, and learning from them. I think knowing someone else’s story can really help you through this great unknown. So if you have a blog to share, leave the link in the comments and I’ll add it to my blog roll. Hopefully other visitors can benefit from our collective experiences!

This entry was posted in Random Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A little help from my friends

  1. Megan says:

    I just wanted you to know that I am rooting for you, and I understand that lonely feeling. Thank goodness for 3T and all of the wonderful ladies there 🙂

Leave a Reply

