Update!

We have 5 frozen embryos! Hopefully this keeps me in babies for awhile.

My doctor just called with the details of all 11 of my embryos. They grade them based on a few different things. The number indicates the stage of blastocyst development (1 is earliest, 5 is hatching out of the shell) and the letters grade the inner cell mass (which will be the fetus, A is best) and the trophectoderm (which will be the placenta, A is best). Here’s a site that explains in greater detail.

We transferred a 4AA. This is what it looked like:

Of the remaining 11 fertilized embryos, we froze 5: one 4AA, two 3AA, one 4AC and one 4BB. The remaining 5 didn’t make it: 3CC x 2, 1CC x 1, 10-cell (didn’t even make it to blastocyst stage) and one that just looked crappy. I really think this was the best outcome we could have hoped for up to this point. Hopefully the good news keeps coming!

This entry was posted in IVF#1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update!

  1. Meagan says:

    I found your blog from a pregnancy website and on a whim I clicked on it to read; something I never do. I’m so glad I did because you sound like such a strong woman and as another woman just now barely starting into this phase of scary ground your determination and honesty is both refreshing and reassuring. I’m rooting for you and look forward to hearing how things go in the week and a bit and will be praying for you and your husband.

Leave a Reply

