And we’re back…

Of course we have no answers as to why things didn’t work last cycle. Our doctor suspects it may be due to my super high estrogen levels causing problems with the lining. Or (more likely) it was just bad luck. 25% of all pregnancies end in miscarriage. Just because we are doing IVF, doesn’t mean our odds are any better.

Even though we have no answer, we do have a plan. We have 5 frozen embryos left. Apparently the frozen ones don’t do as well as the fresh ones (although if you have day 5 embryos like we do, they fare a little better). Since the frozen ones don’t do as well, and my perfect embryo already proved itself not to be so perfect, we are going to transfer two embryos next time. And next time will be sometime in early November. It’s about a 3 week process to get things ready to go for a frozen cycle, and I’m out of town the last two weeks of October, so November is the soonest we can move forward.

I’m much more pessimistic this time around. Honestly, our best chance was with the fresh cycle. That didn’t work. I can’t help but think this probably won’t work either. But we do what we have to do. And I already have a plan for what we will do if this doesn’t work: take a break. Like a year long break. I’m tired. Our bank account is tired. We’re not sure we want to transfer the last three not so stellar embryos, or do another fresh cycle while my eggs are still young. We will need time to figure that out. And I have to get a job soon. I’d like some time to get that figured out before dealing with this anymore.

So that’s where we are at. I think it is a good plan, and I hope it works. I’m due for something good to happen for us in this whole IF/TTC journey. I just wish I had a crystal ball so I knew when to expect that something good to happen.

This entry was posted in FET#1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And we’re back…

  1. Mom says:

    The good thing is that you are not alone through this. We love you both and you are in our thoughts and prayers every day, especially during this emotional time. Whatever happens in November, you can be with your mom over Christmas. We will make it cozy and relaxed (you can even play with my train). Honey, I love you so much and wish I could wave a magic wand to make this happen for you now, but that little one will get started when she or he is ready. XXXOOO Mom

Leave a Reply

