Still Here

I wish I had more to entertain you all with, but nothing much is going on on the baby front. Other than pretending we are normal people who can get knocked up the good old fashioned way (um, if my mom is reading this… please ignore that last bit). We’re taking a treatment break until April. March is crazy busy for us: I’m going to Minnesota for a week, Adam is going to San Diego for a week, my mom is in town for the month, we’re going to Hawaii for a wedding at the end of the month. And given how things have gone the last few times we’ve transferred an embryo, it’s probably best to avoid doing that before any of these other activities occur. I actually want to enjoy most of March. We have nothing planned for April, so we’ll wait for then.

For now, I’m still trying to get out of this funk. I just find myself being sad a lot of the time. It comes out of nowhere. I’ve had to stop reading other people’s blogs… the people who were cycling at the same time I was, but are now pregnant. It’s too hard for me to see where I should be, but am not. I’m so so happy for them, but the sadness for me is just overwhelming. But I keep going, and am still hopeful. And our karyotypes came back normal, so that’s one less thing to worry about!

So to keep you all entertained during this downtime, I’ll find some random things to write about. Taking a cue from one of the blogs that I do still read (and will continue to read even when her IVF works), for those of you who don’t actually know me in real life, how about some random facts about me?

1. My sister used to be able to make me cry by telling me I had red hair. I now love my hair color.
2. I always liked my brother’s Masters of the Universe figures better than my Barbie dolls.
3. I don’t believe in low fat cooking. If a recipe calls for butter, I use butter. And lots of it.
4. I cannot sit on a bus for more than 10 minutes without falling asleep.
5. I have been known to drink the same cup of coffee all day. Sometimes I don’t even bother heating it up.
6. I think beets are a great vegetable, because you get two meals out of them. One, roasted beets. Two, sauteed beet greens.  Two veggies for the price of one!
7. I made the finals of the school-wide spelling bee when I was in 2nd grade, but lost because I spelled country c-o-u-n-t-y.
8. In high school I had to ask my English teacher for a letter of recommendation for my college application and I almost started crying because I was so terrified of speaking in public.
9. I procrastinate, but I never miss a deadline and I always do a very good job.
10. After 4 years of college, 4+ years of medical school, 3 years of residency and almost 3 years of fellowship, I have finally realized I really do want to be a doctor.
11. I went to Dartmouth for college because I didn’t get into Williams and it was the only other co-ed college I had applied to. I am so glad I didn’t get into Williams.
12. I rowed for 7 years, but it took a summer spent rowing at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in San Diego before I realized I didn’t actually like rowing. I miss it though. Go figure.
13. I got an A in AP English in high school despite the fact that I never read Heart of Darkness, one of only two books we covered in class that semester.
14. I fear that the public school system will not provide my children with the education they deserve (likely related to item 13).
15. I want to raise chickens.
16. I love road trips.
17. I grew up in small town Idaho but moved to Seattle in high school because I wanted to live in the city. I am just now starting to realize how lucky I was to have grown up in a small town.
18. I lost my passport when I was visiting Vienna. It turned out to be the best part of my trip, since I got to experience things that normal tourists miss out on–visiting the police station, meeting the nice ladies at the lost and found, taking public transportation all over the city trying to track down the consulate, the embassy and finally, finding my passport!
19. I am going to run another half-marathon and I am going to do a triathlon. I’m just not sure when.
20. I actually like the rain in Seattle. I found the sunshine in San Diego boring.
21. I don’t like chocolate.
22. As a doctor, I trust and respect my colleagues. As a patient, I respect but don‘t trust doctors.
23. I never believe statistics.
24. My go-to hangover meal is a grilled cheese sandwich and tomato soup.
25. I don’t walk on steam grates in sidewalks. I don’t know why, but I just won’t do it.

This entry was posted in Random Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

