Reading List

My therapist recommended a book called Coming to Term by John Cohen. I was complaining about how hard it is to find good information out there about pregnancy loss, especially biochemical pregnancies, which seem to be in this weird no-man’s land. They don’t count as implantation failures, because the embryo implanted. But they don’t really count as miscarriages either, since there was never ultrasound evidence of a viable pregnancy (when I say the don’t “count” I only mean that in terms of research studies). This guy felt the same way about recurrent miscarriages, and how confusing the available information was. He sought out to explore all the published medical research into recurrent pregnancy loss after his wife suffered four miscarriages.

I haven’t read the book yet (I had to finish reading the Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides for book club this month. It was just *eh*.), but judging my the reviews on amazon, he comes to pretty much the same conclusion I have: there’s no good evidence for allo-immune factors causing pregnancy loss or infertility. I know some people believe strongly that treating underlying immune issues is what ultimately leads to their successful pregnancies, and others feel their doctor’s failure to address these issues is preventing them from getting pregnant. Those people aren’t wrong. There’s no evidence that immune issues *aren’t* problems. There’s just no evidence that they are. And for me, I need to know that something is helpful before I go that route, and I’m not yet convinced that immune therapy is helpful. I’m interested to read the book. I even bought an *actual* book, and not the Kindle version. Which is a whole other story… it appears I was sold a stolen library book. The NY Public Library has now launched an investigation into the used book dealer I bought it from. Drama. 

This entry was posted in Random Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading List

  1. Cristy says:

    I’ve come to the same conclusion you have. And until someone actually finds some evidence that the immune system plays a role, there’s going to be a lot of hand-waving and lots of arguments. I’m curious what you think about the book. And I’m more than happy to tag-team with you on Pubmed and literary searched.

    Bummer about the book.

Leave a Reply

