Back in the game

We have a plan, and while FET is still over a month away, I feel like we are finally moving forward again. Don’t get me wrong, this break has been great. I am mentally prepared for whatever may come. I have our back up IVF on the schedule, and while I would love for this FET to work, I know if it doesn’t we are far from the end of the road.

We’re doing this FET a little differently than the last. For one, no BCPs. They typically use those to control the timing of a transfer. Since I have amazingly regular cycles, I can tell them exactly when my next period will start, so they are letting me just do estrogen. This makes me happy. I hate BCPs almost as much as I hate Clomid. I start estrace 3 days before my next period is due to start. I will take that for about a month, and then go in to make sure my ovaries are “quiet” and my lining looks good. Last time it took a few extra days of estrogen, and a few doses, well, let’s just say I did not take those orally, and that did the trick. Then I will take progesterone for 5-6 days. This time we are doing PIO, and not Crinone. I asked my doctor why. She said there was a recently published paper showing higher pregnancy rates with Crinone compared to PIO (here for you science-y types), but there was no difference in the rate of biochemical pregnancies. She’s been asking around to find out what other REs would do in our case and most people agree that after two unexplained biochemical pregnancies, they’d try a different progesterone protocol. So that’s what we are doing. Sometimes that whole evidence based thing has to go out the window.

I’ve enjoyed my hormone free vacation, but I’m ready to get back in the game. And it’s sunny today and I’m in a much better mood. I do love the sun.

This entry was posted in FET#2. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back in the game

  1. Cristy says:

    Sounds like a good plan! One question: no BCPs, but then you are on BCPs?

    Wishing you luck as your prepare!

  2. Katey says:

    You love the sun and I love you!! Thinking of you… always, you know =)

Leave a Reply

