Killing Time

There’s a lot of waiting in a FET cycle. With IVF you have needles! Monitoring! Giant ovaries! It’s all much more exciting. An FET is just waiting. Start estrogen. Wait. Monitoring. Wait. Progesterone x 5 days, ET. Wait. I’m kind of tired of waiting.

I’m in Minnesota this week. It’s a crazy conference, where we are in lectures 10-12 hours a day. I am exhausted, and I think I might be more confused than when I got here. I have learned there are guidelines for the practice of endocrinology, but everyone kind of decides for themselves whether they want to follow them or not. I guess maybe we all start out following the guidelines, then as we get more comfortable with our careers, start making decisions based on our patients and our experience? It’s amazing how different people practice medicine in different parts of the country. I think it’s great that I’m getting exposure to a different way of doing things, but I like my way. So I probably won’t change anything right away.

So as I’m waiting, and trying to find ways to stay entertained in Rochester, MN, Cristy at Searching for Our Silver Lining tagged me in a “get to know you” kind of post. And since NBC is showing election returns instead of Parenthood, I thought it might be fun. So here you go:

1. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go? Right now, I want to go to Iceland. This changes periodically though. Last year it was sailing in Croatia. Sometimes it is New Zealand. I just want to travel.

2. Name one individual who’s made an impact on your life? My high school rowing coach. She once told me I needed to fight for what I want. I can’t just be good at something and wait for people to come to me, I need to be good at something and show people that I’m good at it and then make sure they know what I want. It changed my entire approach to life. I should probably tell her that…

3. Wine or beer? Beer. But only good beer. I’m on an IPA kick right now, the hoppier the better.
4. What was the craziest thing you’ve ever done? I am not a crazy person. I went skinny dipping in the Connecticut River in college. At night. Drunk. I think that was just stupid.

5. What’s your favorite color? Blue. All shades of blue.

6. What’s your favorite board game? Carcassone. We need to find more people to play with us. My sister hates it. But it’s fun. Really.

7. If you were stranded on a deserted island with only one book, what would it be? Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides. It’s long and epic and brilliant. Or maybe my Complete Jane Austen Collection. It’s all her books in one volume, does that count as one book?

8. Pirate or ninja? Which would I rather be? Pirate. They get to sail boats, and I like to sail. Ninjas have to be sneaky and hide, and I always have to pee as soon as I hide when playing hide and seek, and I think needing to pee all the time would probably be a hindrance to my being a ninja.

9. Favorite Girl Scout cookie? Dosidos (the oatmeal peanut butter sandwich cookies)

10. If you had a million dollars, what would you do? Probably something really boring like invest it so that we can retire early and travel. But if you were going to force me to spend it frivolously right now… get a house with a big back yard (so that A will agree to get another dog), a big beautiful kitchen, lots of light, a garden, and a big dining room so we can host family dinners without having so set up shop in the living room.

11. What lesson from IF will you pass on to your children? Don’t try to do everything on your own. When you are struggling, reach out for help. Someone else is struggling too, and you will be amazed at how much support you will get from each other. You can’t do everything by yourself (even if you think you can). Ask for help, it’s not a sign of weakness.

Now I’m supposed to tag other people, and send them a list of questions so we can get to know them better too. But I’m exhausted right now, and have to be up bright and early tomorrow for another 6 hours of lectures, so I’m going to pass on that for now. But I will get around to it soon. Good night.

This entry was posted in FET#2. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Killing Time

  1. Cristy says:

    I fell out of my chair reading your response to #8. I’m with you on just wanting to travel. Especially with all the sitting around and waiting due to the FET (IVF was definitely more exciting).

    I hope the conference continues to be fruitful and that the MN weather is being cooperative. And if you do get a chance to explore, check out La Crosse, WI. Cute Mississippi River town not too far from Rochester.

Leave a Reply

