One more day.

We were supposed to get our schedule for FET #2 today, but my nurse is home with her sick little boy. We will go pick it up tomorrow instead. We have to sign the consent to thaw our embryos tomorrow as well. We have three left: 3AA, 4AC and 4BB. The number tells how advanced the embryo is (1 is not very, 5 is hatching out of its shell) and the letters grade the cells that will become the embryo and the placenta (A is good, D is bad). They are all decent quality, otherwise they wouldn’t have frozen them. I of course want to transfer the two best embryos, but the 3AA is frozen alone. The 4AC and 4BB are frozen together. If we want to transfer two, those would be the ones we would thaw. We could thaw all three and see which two are the best, but then we risk losing one. We could thaw the 3AA and just transfer that one, but since we’ve already had three failed transfers, is only transferring one the right thing to do? We could thaw and transfer all three, but with my luck, we’d end up with triplets and quite honestly, I’d rather have another failed cycle than triplets. That just scares me.

I’m hoping our doctor and embryologist will advise us what to do. I will trust them to tell us the best course of action, because they want us to succeed as well. I think they must be getting tired of me still being around at this point. I don’t know how many patients they have that are still coming to the clinic over a year after they start treatments. I just wish we could have a baby without having to make these kinds of decisions. This is so much more complicated than I even imagined it would be.

This entry was posted in FET#2. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One more day.

  1. Cristy says:

    Definitely not a trivial decision! I hope tomorrow’s appointment gives you some answers. My this FET be the one!!

  2. Katherine says:

    What a difficult decision to make. Thinking good thoughts for you Tracy!

Leave a Reply

