Challenges

Last night I gave myself my first PIO shot. This morning I made my first pot of decaf coffee. Honestly, making decaf was harder. I cheated with the PIO. Instead of using the 22 gauge needles (0.72 mm in diameter) that I was told to use, I used a 25 gauge needle (0.51 mm). That’s what I used for my IM trigger shot with IVF, so I figured I’d give it a try. It didn’t hurt. At all. But it took FOREVER to inject that stuff. I will try the 22G needle tonight (which is still smaller than the needle used for blood draws). If I can get through the injection more quickly, I’m willing to put up with a bit more pain.

As for the coffee, I don’t think I can make decaf worth drinking. I’m willing to give it a try though. I’m willing to give almost anything a try this time around.

This entry was posted in FET#2. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Challenges

  1. cardusfamily says:

    I used the 22 G for all my PIO and I barely ever felt the needle go in. The problem is the soreness afterwards – and for me it was usually only the first few times that I was really sore – then my body seemed to get used to it or something. I actually do not mind the PIO – good luck this week T!

  2. Cristy says:

    Congrats on the first PIO shot. I can’t comment on which would be worse, but decaf coffee is a hard one. Hang in there and hoping that there is good news very soon.

  3. Eeek! You did that to yourself! What a brave lady! Good job! Those things hurt and I felt like they took forever, too. Good luck!

  4. Tami says:

    Yet another thing to add to your list of accomplishments? 🙂 I’m glad it was uneventful though. When talking about shots, uneventful is good.

    FYI, I made the switch to decaf months ago. I hate it, but it’s better than nothing. However, just last week my acupuncturist told me I shouldn’t drink decaf because it has to go through so many chemical processes to get the caffeine out that it is actually more harmful that regular coffee. (I glared at him upon hearing this news). I’m now trying to switch to decaf green tea (with minimal caffeine). I don’t want to add more things to worry about for you, but I had no idea until they brought it to my attention. They also recommended Choffy (http://www.drinkchoffy.com/) as a suitable alternative. I’ve heard it’s really good, but haven’t tried it yet.

  5. CanCornK says:

    Caffe Ladro has the best decaf around, and in general the chemical process of decafeinating really isn’t so scary! Thinking of you constantly and missing you.

    • tracysue says:

      That’s what I have at home! It really tastes fine. I just drag towards the end of the day. At least the headaches are gone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

