Lucky Charms

A few months ago we went to trivia night at a local bar. One of the rounds was “lists of five”: name the five ways to score in football*, name the five Cosby kids**, and name the original five marshmallows in Lucky Charms***. We ended up coming in fourth, in part due to my knowledge of famly TV from the 1990’s and sugary breakfast cereals.

* touchdown, field goal, safety, extra point, 2-point conversion
** Saundra, Denise, Theo, Vanessa, Rudy
*** pink hearts, orange stars, yellow moons, green clovers, blue diamonds (the purple horseshoes were a later addition)

Luck plays a prominant part in this IVF stuff. That’s what they keep pinning our failed cycles on: just bad luck. If that is in fact the case, having a few lucky charms can only help, right? So for this next round I will have:

image

Lucky Ladybug socks courtesy of Emily at a blanket2keep, and thanks to Cristy for organizing the sock exchange!

1) my lucky socks. These are a frequent gift between IF’ers. You spend a lot of time naked from the waist down going through treatments, so it is important to have cute, lucky socks.

2) lucky earrings: these were a recent gift from a fellow IVFer, who calls them her “IVF earrings” since they look like embryos in a petri dish. She sent them to me after she was recently successful wit her 2nd IVF.

image

IVF earrings from the lovely farmerlynda

3) while not a lucky charm, per se, I’ve been doing my meditation before bed each night. It is very relaxing because I always fall asleep. I fear I’m missing the part where they say “Now listen closely… here is the secret to getting pregnant” but I will just hope my subconscious is taking notes.

4) acupuncture. I have a pre- and post-transfer session scheduled for tomorrow to hopefully get all my energy flowing properly.

5) friends and family with their thoughts, prayers, pink bubbles, all thinking about us and hoping for good things. I like knowing all those positive thoughts are headed our way.

Clearly I am reaching beyond the world of medical science, but thus far, medical science has not been able to give me any answers. Hopefully these other things will make the difference.

This entry was posted in Random Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lucky Charms

  1. Jenny says:

    I listent to fertility meditations right before bed, too, and I always fall asleep within the first five minutes. I really hope my subconscious is doing the work after that, or I wasted a bunch of money on those downloads for nothing. 😉

    I’ll be sending you lots of good thoughts for your transfer.

  2. Sorry I’m cuttiing it so close. I wanted to get your socks to you for your transfer. You should be getting them today. I have never had lucky socks and I am looking forward to having a pair from this awesome sock exchange. Those are really cute earings.

  3. Cristy says:

    Love the socks and the earrings. And will continue to send you thoughts and good vibes for the FET. May there be very good news soon!

  4. Mom says:

    We are sending positive energy and good thoughts!

Leave a Reply

