Baby Gifts

I finally finished item #1 on my to do list. I think it turned out quite nice, although it is clearly homemade. I think the errors make it special, right? Unfortunately, I can’t share it with you because the recipient may be reading this, and I’d hate to ruin the surprise. I also attempted to make the shade for the kitchen, but it turns out having an 80 year old house with 80 year old windows means the windows are not a standard size. So I can’t find a blind that fits in the window. I guess that one is a fail.

After finishing the baby gift this morning, I realized just how many baby gifts I have made over the years. I love making baby gifts. They are fun, quick and you can get away with things for babies that you just can’t do for adults.

I’ve made hats:

ImageI knit/crochet blankets:

ImageAnd I knit sweaters, baby shoes and the occasional lamb:

I even made a quilt once:

ImageI have a few more gifts for friends to figure out. And then maybe one day I’ll feel ready to make something that we’ll get to keep. I’m not there yet though… hopefully soon.

This entry was posted in Random Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Baby Gifts

  1. JM says:

    WOW!!! I would officially like to place an order for one quilt, one lamb, a Noah’s ark blanket, and 2 pumpkin hats. Thank you.

    You are so talented!!

  2. Cristy says:

    Baby gifts = great first projects. I’ve made my share of sweaters and booties, though blankets I tend to hold off on because of how redundant they can be. Love the quit! And congrats on finishing baby gift #1! I hope that very soon you’ll be planning a gift for your child too.

  3. WOW! You are so creative. That Noah’s Ark blanket is amazing! How did you come up with that idea! Just beautiful. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL! I love all of your work. Do you have an etsy store?

  4. Trisha says:

    Wow, those are all so beautiful! I’m really jealous of your skills. I can’t sew, knit, quilt, or anything like that, which makes me really sad. I wish I could make beautiful gifts like that for people.

  5. You know I love everything you made! You are very talented! I have that Noah’s Ark pattern. I am just waiting to make it for someone who will love it. I know all too well how it is to make stuff for others babies and wait to make something to keep. I hope you will soon be comfortable to make something for your little one!

  6. Jen says:

    They’re all so beautiful! I envy your talent. 🙂

  7. Tami says:

    I’m left absolutely speechless. Not only are these gifts so thoughtful, but they are damn good! Oh if we only lived a bit closer I would bribe you for lessons with some sweet homemade keylime pie. Or rock-your-world hummus. Or any culinary delight that you so should desire.

  8. Kathleen says:

    The Noah’s Ark blanket is the bestest, if I do say so myself! 🙂

  9. DandelionBreeze says:

    They are beautiful… you are very clever 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

