Surprise!

I didn’t give you the full story from ultrasound #1. We had a few people we wanted to surprise and since they read this blog, I had to keep a few details to myself.

So let’s go back to Tuesday last week. I was nervous, but fairly confident we would see something (there had to be some explanation for my non-stop nausea!). Dr. L came in and said “I’m just as anxious as you are. Let’s see what we have.” After a few seconds she said, “it looks good!” and turned the screen so A and I could see the black blob in my uterus. She pointed out the fetus and the yolk sac and then the heartbeat. It was a tiny little flutter, but it was definitely there.

She shifted the ultrasound probe to get a look at the entire sac, back and forth, back and forth, and said “do you see what I see?” And I did see what she was looking at–a second sac. She quickly pointed out a second embryo, a second yolk sac and a second heartbeat. It was twins!!! One was measuring a few days behind, but both had perfect heartbeats.

The Beans at 6 Weeks

She took a bunch of pictures, and a bunch of measurements and stepped out of the room to get some paperwork. When she came back, the entire clinic was with her: Dr. Z, nurse E and S, and they all had these huge smiles on their faces. I know I’ve said before that I love my clinic, but I really really do. I love that they all know me and I know all of them and they are truly excited for us. It is wonderful.

Ultrasound #2 was Friday. I was a nervous wreck, because I just feel off. I don’t know if I have been feeling off because this is my new normal, and this is how you feel when you are growing people inside of you. Or if I felt off because something was wrong. So it was a great relief when Dr. L took one look at the ultrasound screen and said “everything looks beautiful.” We have two babies, one still 2 days behind the other but both totally in the normal range. Both with strong beautiful heartbeats. One standing on its head, the other hanging out up-right.

The Beans at 8 Weeks

Yesterday, I graduated from the RE clinic, which is so bittersweet. I love them all there. They are such wonderful people and so caring. I can only hope the OB is as good at dealing with my neuroses. We will find out next week with my first appointment. I decided to stay at the university. There is a hospital near our house with a midwife service, but with twins and being old, I would feel better being with an OB, so the U is probably a better choice. Plus it will be convenient for work, since I will just be next door. And it shares clinic space with my RE, so I can always sneak back over to say to everyone when I feel the need for a little extra love.

Relief is setting in, as I realize everything is finally going perfectly. But the panic is starting to creep in as well because holy crap. We are going to have two babies. AT THE SAME TIME!! It’s a crazy place to be right now. But exciting. Life is going to be so much more fun in about 8 months…

This entry was posted in FET#2. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Surprise!

  1. zanana1124 says:

    Congrats on to Healthy Babies! Best of luck to you!

  2. Cristy says:

    Congratulations Tracy! Wishing you a healthy and happy (and uneventful) 9 months!

  3. Megan says:

    I am so, so happy for you guys!! Congratulations on your twins 🙂

  4. Congratulations!!!! THIS is WONDERFUL news! Thanks for posting the U/S pix. I am sooo, sooo happy for you and wish you a safe and healthy pregnancy. Twins! So exciting. I will be following you every step of the way. Hugs.

  5. sass says:

    Congratulations! What a wonderful u/s 🙂 I’ll look forward to your next update.

  6. Katey says:

    Two babies is so definitely NOT boring (re: previous blog post title!)

  7. Emily says:

    Oh my gosh! Congratulations! 2 Beautiful babies! So cool to see how much they have grown in 2 weeks!

Leave a Reply

