Moving right along.

I’m starting to relax and allow myself to start thinking about having actual babies. I have been bookmarking crafts from this lovely blog of baby things I want to make, and yesterday made my first trip to the fabric store. This weekend I’m hitting the yarn store. Eventually I need to find a better fabric store. JoAnn’s is convenient, but they don’t have the nicest fabrics. There is a quilt store in the neighborhood which is nice, so once I decide what kind of quilts I want to make I’ll probably head there and see what I can find. Since I have two weeks in Montana coming up, I want to make sure I have enough crafty stuff to work on while I’m there. It will be a good time to get stuff done!

I had an OB appointment today. I like my OB. She seems to understand my need for information, and we spent the entire appointment answering my lengthy list of questions. What I learned today:

  • If Twin A is head down, we can try for a vaginal delivery
  • We will attempt this delivery in the OR, because sometimes after the first baby is delivered, the second baby’s placenta is expelled and then they have to do an emergency C-section, so it’s best to be in the OR ready to go just in case
  • Because of the possibility of an emergency C-section, they also recommend an epidural. Otherwise they have to do general anesthesia for the C-section and you are asleep when Baby B make its appearance
  • Thus, I will not be planning for a natural birth. Which is ok by me. Especially if Baby B is heading out feet first. Apparently they have to reach in and grab it, and I would prefer not to feel that.
  • I don’t need a high risk OB since they are di-di twins, which means they each have their own sac and their own placenta. I’m still at risk for pre-term labor, but overall di-di twins are the lowest risk twins.
  • They use the old criteria for gestational diabetes screening, but my OB uses a lower cut-off (she follows the ADA guidelines instead of the ACOG guidelines). This is only interesting to me because I’m a diabetes dork.
  • I should gain 35 to 40 lbs.
  • Since my prenatal vitamins are making me gag, I can take two Flintstone chewables instead. Yay!!
  • We scheduled all my appointments from now through December. Luckily most of those could be scheduled on Wednesday afternoons, which are my afternoons off.
  • Next visit we do the quad screen and schedule the anatomy scan. We still aren’t finding out the genders unless Adam changes his mind in the next 7 weeks.

So that is the end of the first trimester. Next appointment is sometime in July. I still haven’t decided if pregnancy stuff will continue here, or if I’ll consolidate into our general blog. Our poor general blog is being neglected. It needs some attention.

This entry was posted in Random Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moving right along.

  1. Amanda says:

    I am not sure that I should be enabling you… But I bought some lovely fabric from carousel designs http://www.babybedding.com/ to make my own bedding and curtain. The whole thing is not quite done, but I now at least have the essentials finished. It turns out that making fitted crib sheets takes me a lot longer than I had anticipated due to the lack of a really good large cutting surface.

    Sounds like a pretty good delivery plan. I think I heard a birth story recently of a delivery similar to how you described it in your posting: first one came out head first and the second was kind of extracted by reaching in for the feet!

  2. JM says:

    Well that is a whole lotta info! I really like your attitude about the delivery- it is very much in line with what I’m thinking (provided I can actually get pregnant, you know, cart before the horse). Love that crafty site too!

  3. Looks like you have a well laid out plan.

Leave a Reply

